Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
"Buy Quality, Cry Once"
726 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 8000 sq ft "Dollar Tree" store to bid on. The company has sent blue prints. I have looked these over and can somewhat decipher what they are saying, but this would be one job where if not bid correctly one could lose some serious money.

On the other hand if it's bid right, one could make some serious money. I have been trying to find an estimator to help me with the bid on this, but honestly don't know where else to look. I would be happy to pay a fee for the ability to submit a competetive bid.

If anyone out there has any thoughts I would appreciate it.

·
Custom Builder
4,406 Posts
Send it to me. I'll pick it apart if you pay me to.
Is it a sealed bid or open?
What advantages do you have, are you in from the ground, ect?

Oh yea, don't be deceived by my present residential status, I was a Union contractor for 6 years, had my fair share of the rat race.

Bob

·
...jammin
5,234 Posts
8K sq of wall to cover in paint, or it's an 8K sq area building?

·
...jammin
5,234 Posts
Can you figure out from the prints how much wall sq ft ?
Or is that the problem, you can't figure that out from the prints?
Or are you not familier with commercial bidding?

·
...jammin
5,234 Posts
ProWallGuy said:
Its so much harder to bid something that isn't tangible, something you can't see and feel.
I agree, I don't want to bid on anything I can't put an eyeball on
But I can usually get an idea of what's going on from the blueprints
At least how much sq ft of wall that must be covered

If I was working strictly from a blueprint, I would want a second opinion too

·
Registered
29 Posts
You need to break down the overall aspects of the job. New construction defenitely has more aspects, but the overall picture is the same. I'm assuming the prints have a legend/key? Find out the scale of the prints= normally 1/2"= 1'