Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys
I have an 1982 counterflow gas furnace in the shop that i'm havind a problem with and hope someone could help me out on what might be.
First off let me say that i'm a remodeling contractor and have been kicking around the trades for about 26 years. That being said, i've had occasian to do minor repairs on furnaces, though I have an HVAC contractor for most of the large projects. Unfortunatly he's also out of down till the first of the year.
Anyhow, the problem.
On call for heat everything works as it should, electronic ignition is immediate and so is the pilot flame. Thermal sensor is working as the gas valve opens after 40 seconds or so and the burners fire up.
Problem is that the burners will stay lit for about 5 to 6 seconds and there is an audioable click and the gas shuts down. After another 40 seconds or so the cycle starts over with the same results.
The system is really simple on this unit, basically the gas valve, spark ignitor and the limit switch. I have looked at the electrical schematic thinking ther was a secondary 'no flame' sensor but there is not.
I'm in the midst of assembling 775 square feet of laminate tops and the no furnace in the Chicago region is not going to work.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
438 Posts
woodbutcher said:
Hey guys
I have an 1982 counterflow gas furnace in the shop that i'm havind a problem with and hope someone could help me out on what might be.
First off let me say that i'm a remodeling contractor and have been kicking around the trades for about 26 years. That being said, i've had occasian to do minor repairs on furnaces, though I have an HVAC contractor for most of the large projects. Unfortunatly he's also out of down till the first of the year.
Anyhow, the problem.