Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All right people I have a older furnace with a honeywell combonation fan limit sw model # l4064b2954.This unit is 1 year old.I replaced it prior because of no gas flow.Well I woke up this am and it was 12 degrees in the house.I have played with the sw and now things are working,but my question is what should the 3 on off switches be set at.Originally when i replaced the unit i just transfered the old unit settings.I live in central Alberta.The second part of my question.On a mercury sw thermostat two wire, how come you can see a spark from the glass bulb when you wiggle test it(normal current flow) but today i cant get any flash.Does this mean ive got a t-stat problem. Im an automotive tech by trade and I deal with a lot of auto electrical.Im kicking myself for not haveing my dvom at home.

·
Registered
52 Posts
An improperly installed fan/limit switch can cause all the above problems. You should have your furnace checked by a professional for safety if nothing else. You definately don't want to wake up dead.

·
Registered
438 Posts
Could you please give us a few more parameters in the type and the design of you furnace, as it a gas furnace or oil. Is it a conversion from gas to oil?
Natural draft or power vented? Does it have AC
Thanks
Bernie

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
sure

Its a gas furnace made by Furnace-Aire model # 125tc.
Way to big for a house,was told by the gas company guy last year its made for one of those small apartment blocks.125,000 btu's.forced air no ac.
Thanks

·
Registered
10 Posts
125K is NOT too big for most houses, ESPECIALLY where YOU live.Ha!.
This fan-limit switch......is it the really old type that the wheel has pointers on a temp scale and you set the pointers? Describe it. don-ohio

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·