Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I"m 18 and I've been working for a small business contractor for the past 6 months, and a local cabinet shop for a year before that...I'm looking to get into carpentry as a career and I"m wondering what would be better...go to college and get a degree and then try to start working as a carpenter and always have my degree to fall back on...or start an "earn as you learn" program which i would have a full time job and have school paid for. what do you guys think would be the best choice?

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
WilsonInc. said:
... think would be the best choice?
That depends in large part on whether you want to work for someone for the major portion of your career or whether you see yourself as a future business owner or manager.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Get your education first!!!!!
If you can find a company that will work with your schedule, you won't make better money anywhere. When I was in college, I worked for a company that built bars. They prided themselves on never closing down a bar (this was in Ft. Laud. FL in it's heyday). We worked from 1AM to 10 or 11 AM, great times and good money. I paid cash for my first home, second and third one too, plus the summer home in NC and five current homes. Look at my profile and you will see that I'm no idiot, education came first.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
so it would be better to go to college rather than the apprenticeship program and get my journeymans cert.? what would you reccomend i go to school for if i want to become a carpenter?

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
You need to look farther down the road. Chances are that you will not want to remain a employed carpenter forever, over time, you will figure out who is making the money and want to go there. Without some education, you will enter into the trial and error phase, lose money and maybe make it. Maybe not.