Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am a siding guy by trade, but I have done a lot of framing. I know what to do if somebody tells me what to do. For instance, most car ports I have closed up we use 6 or 8 in cinder blocks to raise the wall 16" up. The brick columns (1'x1') in my car port are 8 feet apart. I was thinking I could use 4" blocks with rebar every 16 in. I do not know if that would work. Also, one of my builders recommended that I put the cinder blocks leaving 4 1/2 inches in from the outside of the columns for brick on the bottom. Wouldn't that leave siding being between the brick columns? Unless my mudsill goes over the brick also which means i need to use a 2x8? Any help or advice would be helpful.

·
Registered
4,364 Posts
Hi,
I am a siding guy by trade, but I have done a lot of framing. I know what to do if somebody tells me what to do. For instance, most car ports I have closed up we use 6 or 8 in cinder blocks to raise the wall 16" up. The brick columns (1'x1') in my car port are 8 feet apart. I was thinking I could use 4" blocks with rebar every 16 in. I do not know if that would work. Also, one of my builders recommended that I put the cinder blocks leaving 4 1/2 inches in from the outside of the columns for brick on the bottom. Wouldn't that leave siding being between the brick columns? Unless my mudsill goes over the brick also which means i need to use a 2x8? Any help or advice would be helpful.
Then you don't know what to do....:no:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well,