Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I am relatively new to woodworking and I wanted to ask you a few questions. I have started creating garden benches for personal use. While they are rough around the edges, they do look nice. I use SPF 2 x 4’s and then prime them and I also use two separate coats of quality gloss paint as a finish.

Now I have recently been told that despite the two coats and the priming, I am using the wrong wood for these benches. Friends tell me that they are ‘not going to last’. This makes me less excited about designing them and hesitant about possibly selling them (at cost mind you). Despite the fact that people like how they look, no one is going to want a bench that does not last.

So is this true? Would I be better off using treated pine for these benches? And for those of you that have used treated pine before, do you still paint and prime? While there may be better woods available, I really have no idea how to find them or finish then. I also suspect that the cost would be much higher than what I am paying now. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
2,716 Posts
The reason your friends are skeptical is this----

Wood exposed to the elements expands and contracts a lot----this will stretch and crack the glossy paint---allowing water to enter--causing the paint to peal and blister.

You need to use a stain the breaths and will allow the wood to go through its natural movement without blistering the finish---

time to learn more about wood ---and finishes---

·
Head Light Bulb Changer
847 Posts
In your instance I think SPF is great for learning. Light, soft, and easy to cut/mill. Saves on saw blades and router bits. It won't hold up the the elements, though. I say use it to practice your skills and when you get more experience switch to a harder wood. Even Doug Fir or SYP would be a step up.

·
Nail Driving Fool
554 Posts