Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to purchase a cabin and found this on my inspection. I am by no means an expert on chimney pipe installation but this looks at best sloppy and at worst dangerous. This is in a wood-burning fireplace that appears barely used. Just after the firbox, right above the damper the pipe from above inserts inside the pipe below it. My concern is that the gases will escape around the outside of the chimney pipe instead of up the chimney. I am also concerned that due to the bent and wrinkled pipe a disruption in airflow will occur affecting the flow of gases. One expert I contacted stated that this was normal and that the flue action will suck the gases up. He said the pipe must be installed into the ipes from below to allow water/condensation to flow inside the assembly. I understand this but I am still a little concerned. I am under a tight time constraint and can't get an inspection done by a chimney expert before I am scheduled to close. Any input would be much appreciated. I am uploading two pics to try and demonstrate the condition. Thanks to all.

Attachments

·
Registered
Brickwork
1,113 Posts
The ones that I have fitted have always gone into a spigot in the gather, but our codes may be different to yours. We wouldn't get away with that.

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
Looks like a Hack job to me, delay the closing and get a real pro in to give you the bottom line. Or close, requesting money in escrow until you are confidant that the chimney is repaired, and working safely. Dont mess around with this. welcome to CT. G

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
chimney