Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the commercial media blasting business and although I have used a small sand pot (HFT) and bead blasting cabinet (all fed by a 24 cfm compressor) in my shop for years to good effect I realize that I am on the steep part of the learning curve when it comes to operating as a stand alone commercial blasting business.

Currently have a Sullair 185/ 150 psi, BB 100 Soda pot and BB 375 cfm cooler drier system and am considering a Marco 3.5 pot for hard media. Also have a Delco 4200 pressure washer ( 4 gpm, 2000 psi hot/cold) Using WIN nozzle for dust control.

If I can find a way to remove heavy chewing gum and oil stains from sand bedded brick pavers in open commercial areas with high foot traffic levels I would have a good jump start for the business and the possibility of an ongoing maintenance contract. I am looking at 2 locations with a total area of about 20,000 sq/ft.

Any ideas

ps I am most impressed by the professionalism and knowledge displayed on this forum, just one of the things that makes America great!.

·
Glen
1,504 Posts
Here's the thing. You might blast gum off a brick but there is a good chance you will dis figure the up protected portion of the brick in the process. Stains below the surface will get the same results. You will have to blast down past the stain and you will surely see that in the brick. Best way to remove gum involves a scraper and bottled air. You freeze it the pop it up. Stains have to be cleaned with chemicals. I just don't think blasting is the way to go.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·