Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello every one I’m new at this I’m probably positive this is the hundredth time this issue has been posted during the year. Advice please
Who what where when
Myself of Journey level experience background trying to complete application packet for California contractor state license board. On of the forms to complete is specifically titled as “certification of work experience”
I have already reached out to a former employer asking for their cooperation with this but they will not. According to them I was hired on as a laborer, unbeknownst to me I was hired as a Laborer but clearly I was functioning on a day to day basis as employe of a journey level expertise, meaning I was hands on completing projects of a journey level background individual.
Their response has been totally unexpected and quite frankly I don’t get it. My question is it common for contractors in this case former employers to completely flat out not want to certify somebody’s work experience? Is this a common practice they get away with? Is it common to not want to sign somebody’s work experience verification?
I do have check stubs I do have W-2 but I am unable to get certification of work experience signed by a former employer, not having this form signed will document my application as INCOMPLETE and invalid as far as I know.
Anyone ideas? Thank you.

·
Registered
GC
517 Posts
I have no idea why they wouldn't verify your work experience, unless they actually did consider you a laborer.

·
GC/carpenter
GC/Carpenter
42,715 Posts
Try here.

Mike.
___

·
Registered
1,126 Posts
Can you get one of your fellow coworkers that has worked with you, sign off for you? Maybe not the big boss, but a PM or the like?

·
Registered
1,836 Posts