Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I found the answers to my questions elsewhere. I was just looking for info on something I haven’t seen a lot of in area in my years of GC ing. Some good info here from some, but a lot of jerks offering little to no advice, just more concerned of whether I was a contractor or just a home owner seeking advice, like their advice is rocket science or something and can’t be obtained from anywhere else. I am a contractor with many years experience, I’m glad to help anyone and thought this was a place for like minded people.

·
Registered
508 Posts
sorry for misunderstanding saying yes to caulk. Thought a quick answer would be enough for him to go away. Please send him to diy site.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Design Build
8,348 Posts
Think your question through a little more.

Why would you want to caulk every batten?Unless you’re only doing only 1 strip every 4 feet and you’re using 4 foot wide vertical panels - a butt joint every 4 ft. If you are doing traditional battens at 24 inch or 16 inch on center, why would you put caulking under the one or two respectively that are not located over a butt joint?

If you’re a contractor this will make sense to you. If you’re just a curious homeowner, there is a wonderful site where people will jump at the opportunity to share their opinions and experiences.

diychatroom.com

·
Registered
12,871 Posts
We never caulked the battens.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
508 Posts
I’ve used smart board 3 1/2 wide over hardie and in the specs of the smart board it called for caulking all seams. Your system might be different but I think it is best to do what the manufacturer requires.

9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
You a contractor?
https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/1605-Country-Club-Cir-Las-Cruces-NM-88001/51478227_zpid/
One I did a few years ago. Go to picture 7