Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So by trade I'm a carpenter framing and trimming residential for many years. I worked as a union journeyman carpenter for a few years working on commercial projects before I was told by a GC I was wasting my time and should move up to being a superintendent. I landed a job with this GC as an assistant super for 1 1/2 years before moving up to running my own projects.

I did 4-6 story projects before getting tired of being in one place for so long. I moved on to doing big box projects but I still didn't like the one place for so long thing again. This is when I started doing TI work (some ground up too) focusing on retail and heavy into restaurants. I found what I liked. Get in, get it done and move on to another project.

For 15 years I've traveled all over the country building mainly restaurants and higher end retail. I'm still heavy into the restaurant side. The past 5 years I've focused on one client. During this time I developed a set of guidelines that would enable any superintendent, who may have never seen one of these projects, be able to complete the project on time, on budget and with a minimal punch list.