Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been doing concrete for a few years now, I'm confident with every stage of finishing (excluding certain decorative finishes) and I'm starting my own company doing flatwork. I've got one moderately skilled guy on board and I'm pretty fast. I'm thinking with just the two of us I generally won't be wanting to take on anything too big, maybe 1500 sq. ft. basement for example with good conditions and not a lot of obstacles. I understand that what we can do varies a lot on the situation but I just wanted to know some examples of what you guys would comfortable doing with one other guy?

·
Fine Handcrafted Opinions
994 Posts
Two guys is pretty small for concrete work if you're doing more than sidewalks or suchlike. If you're keeping it small, it'd be fine.

I've done a couple small additions and sidewalks with me and one helper. Had to give a $500 credit on one midsize (350 sq ft plus two steps down to a 10x20 porch) pour because it got away from us a little on the finish. It worked, but wasn't ideal. I don't do that anymore.

Can you make friends with some finishers to help you on bigger jobs? Then when you get it all formed and ready to pour, hire a few guys for the day, or even just a half day. I've hired some finishers who really know what's up, and it makes all the difference. If you can manage a few guys instead of working your ass off trying to stay ahead of the pour, you can catch a lot of the details that would probably slip thru the cracks if it was just you and a helper.

There's my 2 cents.

·
Registered
318 Posts
I almost lost a 10x12 patio once with 2 guys. I bull floated and let it set up for about 15 min. It was a 4" slump. The sun just broke through the clouds and breeze picked up a bit blowing leaves onto pad. By the time I got the leaves off the crete was setting fast.