Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

The latest buzz in Southern Ontario, is the idea of going to Florida to frame. I think some of the boys don't like the snow..LOL.

Just wondering if anyone has done this? Also is it beneficial financially? If so how do I get hooked up down there?

I have extensive framing experience (i.e. read plans, can do cut roof or truss roof, can build pretty much anything out of wood.)

Thanks for the help. :cheesygri

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
You can come down but don't intend to stay. I had lunch today with a guy from Toronto and he has to go back once a year to renew his visa.
I told him to fly to Cuba, get citizenship and float over on some innertubes. THEN we would welcome him with open arms.
I swear that I don't understand how this country works sometimes.
Educated, speak the language, willing and able to work, have some money? We don't want you. Just the opposite and we'll suck you up like a ShopVac.

·
Registered
22 Posts
CDNcontractor said:
Hi all,

The latest buzz in Southern Ontario, is the idea of going to Florida to frame. I think some of the boys don't like the snow..LOL.

Just wondering if anyone has done this? Also is it beneficial financially? If so how do I get hooked up down there?

I have extensive framing experience (i.e. read plans, can do cut roof or truss roof, can build pretty much anything out of wood.)

Thanks for the help. :cheesygri

I just moved to Ct a few months back from N.Tampa, Fl.
It's well worth the money building there!
lots of work and $$, i'm going back just to sub some work for a few months.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Did ya miss the ice & snow?

·
Deck Designer/Builder
2,430 Posts
"I told him to fly to Cuba, get citizenship and float over on some innertubes. THEN we would welcome him with open arms.
I swear that I don't understand how this country works sometimes.