Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am remodelling a bathroom and the contractor already put sheetrock in the shower area. Pic attached. He says that we can hot mop over the sheet rock to waterproof. But i have not seen any info on if that is possible. doing a sanity check if this is okay to do and is durable

or what should i do thanks

Harry

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Clayton does my answer below meet your credential requirment to answer a simple question.

let me revise my answer in detail rather than one liner i posted. so there are not subsequent question on my eligibility. since forum are meant to exchange and enhance knowlege. plummber and handyman services by trade, got my license recently expanding out in the business.

Homeowner was piece mealing the remodel. Previous guy quit, homeowenr has limited budget. Previous guy put sheet rock first with the hot mop to follow. I am asking this question to keep his cost low if it is doable and is a common practice. otherwise we will have to cut off the bottom of the sheet rockto hotmop and replace and redguard it before tiling. I am trying to keep cost low if doable otherwise it is mote time and effort...

·
Registered
4,364 Posts
There is a lot of useful information on here, and a lot of guys will help you if you are who you say you are. One of your first lessons is that the homeowner is not always right and it is your job as the professional to explain to them the proper way of building a shower. Let them pick colors and tile and whatever else they want. If they do not want or like your design input, so what, but they should never, under any circumstances, dictate building practices. It is your job to do the job right.