Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a roofer, I am a HVAC contractor I need a new roof on my house and want to get some recomendations from the pros before I spend alot of money and time.

question 1. My house is a hip roof Stick built rafters not trusses (31 years old) I have one layer of existing shingles on the house now, If I have the new shingles (40 year) delivered on the roof can the roof hold the new and old shingles? I plan on tearing off the old shingles but I am afraid if I have them delivered when the old shingles are still on the roof the roof could cave in.

question 2. When I redo the roof I want a good shingle that will hopefully lasy my lifetime, I have been looking at the timberline 40 and the certainteed 50 what would you proffesionals recomend?

question 3. I am a sheet metal mechanic/hvac contractor and I have made alot of custom flashing, and some small custom copper and lead coated copper roofs in our shop. For the vent pipes Instead of using the rubber boots I was going to cover the vent pipes in copper and solder all the joints I have made several vent flashing in the past, should I do this or should I just buy the rubber boots? My thought is rubber cracks over time if I use copper and solder all the joints it will last for ever.

question 4. valleys closed or copper, I like the looks of a closed valley verses the copper W type flashing but I would think the copper would last longer what do you suggest, should I have the thick rubber membrain put in the valleys then do a closed valley or use copper flashing with the copper exposed?