Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am working on a 1000 sq foot deck project, and I'm comparing prices for the exotic woods, and the premium composites.
For example, the TT XLM is about $3.75 lin ft, and garapa is about $2.15.
I have very little experience working with the hardwoods, but this project calls for lots of picture framing, and precise miters.
Cedar or PT would be a peice of cake, but I really don't know about working with the really dense wood.

Can anyone make some recomendations for good dealers? Also, tips and tricks for installation?
Which of the various woods is the best bang for the buck?

I'm figuring that I'll use a mix of SS screws(with plugs) and hidden fasteners such as Ipe Clip extreme
www advantagelumber.com/ipeclip

Here are the two dealers I have looked at so far:

advantagelumber.com
abswood.com

They will deliver for about $500.

·
Premium Member
Retired deck builder
5,842 Posts
While I'm not a fan of those clip systems for hardwoods I have used the extreme ipe clips. I've done a couple using them this year, so far so good. With 1x6 decking & especially on close to the ground decks use glue too if using clips. Don't buy the grooved boards, buy a biscuit cutter instead & use it to install clips.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ditto for Sequoia; you can also look up Bill's Hardwoods in Fleetwood...

PS, we're gonna need pictures of this project!
~Matt

I just spoke to Bill at Fleetwood Lumber. He is getting me pricing on Ipe and Garapa.

I have a 20' trailer, so that will save me the cost of shipping it from some far off state.

Thanks for the heads-up.

-Brett

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
stacey devanuto
Fleetwood lumber is cheaper than Sequoia Supply for Ipe.

Bill said he can get it in less than a week, and I can specify all 18 footers. Most places just provide random lengths.