Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
O.K here goes I am doing a kitchen remodel and radiant heat install BUT ... The homeowner wants more space. They want to push one wall of the kitchen out about 3.5 foot, the wall is the gable wall but there is an attached garage so it already weather tight. One of their friends (a backyard DIY pro??) says it’s a non load bearing wall except for the outside walls studs/jacks. This much I agree with but he is telling them no extra support is needed no headers. Another guy says a header is needed. So here I am a confused Plumber stuck in the middle who has never run across this type of issue?? How should it be done correctly? It is a single level house the span that would be eliminated would be 12’.

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
"PLEASE COMPLETE YOUR PROFILE, AND CONTINUE TO THE INTRO PAGE AND TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOURSELF AND YOUR PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE, THANKYOU AND WELCOME TO CT"...You should not allow yourself to be put in the middle, tell them to hire a competant contractor. GMOD

·
Registered
177 Posts
PLEASE COMPLETE YOUR PROFILE, AND CONTINUE TO THE INTRO PAGE AND TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOURSELF AND YOUR PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE, THANKYOU AND WELCOME TO CT...You should not allow yourself to be put in the middle, tell them to hire a competant contractor. GMOD
Sheesh, he joined two years ago, long before this obsession with the introductions started, and is just now getting a thank you and welcome. I hope to be welcomed to the forum sometime in 2016.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Anything can be done. Somebody just has to pay for it.
To find out how much someone will have to pay, As mentioned before, best to hire an engineer.
Good luck,
Mike

·
Thom
4,137 Posts
plumber, the job is a little more complex than it might seem.