Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
General Contractor
1,035 Posts
Total horizontal square feet times
The square root of ((slope of the roof)squared + 1)
Divide that by 100
Example 1200 sf of horizontal roof area at a 5/12 pitch
square root of ((5/12)squared + 1) = 1.08
1.08 * 1200 = 1296
Add 10% for waste = 1425
1425 / 100 = 14 squares of shingles.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
sailfishfoney said:
i am a contractor [and] have earned alot of respect in this county. i am creative as well as knowledgeable. I hand select all of my trades [and] am also starting another business.
I think she'll figure out the nuances. Gotta' wonder why she had to ask in the first place.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
She is 2 counties north of me, we only see complicated roofs in new construction. Yankees want what they had up north, nevermind our heat and little windstorms.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
asking in the 1st place?

PipeGuy said:
I think she'll figure out the nuances. Gotta' wonder why she had to ask in the first place.
maybe I was fishing for some good help and doesn't have an attitude. people have different was of interviewing. we have had as the world knows hurricanes of 2004. i live in the center of all the destruction and my company only hires experienced contractors and if you don't know that simple calulation then I wouldn"t hire you. that's why I asked if you ,wonder to know.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
thankyou again

hatchet said:
about the only thing that it won't get are the overhangs on the dormers as it's additional square footage not covered by the base horizontal square footage.
I know each roof take in different calculations and materials.if you are interested in some jobs email me at [email protected]

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
pipeguy

pam said: