Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
In my struggle to find a prime contractor, I need to know how much I can charge per L. foot to build economy and premium line cabinet for construction work.
Does any one know how much sub contractor charge in California??
Thank you

·
Administrator
Maker of Fine Sawdust
55,425 Posts
I build custom cabinetry for a living, I don't do economical cabinets only upper quality to high end. When I am bidding on a job I start with a basic formula. This is $15.50 per lineal inch of cabinet, uppers and lowers. Then I add in components, doors, drawers, usually a hundred bucks each. The doors a raised panel style and the drawers are dovetailed on four corners, the cabinets are faceframe construction and the doors are inset, the customer is reuired to supply the hardware unless they want the $2.00 hinges and the $1.25 knobs. The price includes priming and installation. If a stain grade finish is required I figure it out by time and materials and add that to the total.

Here is an example;

a 42" lower cabinet with a pair of doors, a false drawer front and three drawers.

42 x $15.50 = $651.00 for the box (faceframe construction, fancy toekick)
2 doors = $200.00
3 drawers = $300.00
False front = $35.00
--------------------
Total $1,186.00

Add about $300.00 for a stain grade finish (on maple, higher for cherry and mahogany)

It may sound high :eek: but it ends up being about 2-3 days of work to build and install. I live in CT.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
mon, I think that you have been around here long enough to have my prices. I sell only custom cabintry in exotic woods. I don't deal with a lot of breakouts.
Base cabinetry runs about $35K. This does not include countertops or other peripherals. Truly exclusive wood artworks can easily go into multiple six figures. This would be your 'premium' line.

·
Registered
199 Posts