Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
The Deck Guy
3,126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just want to warn everyone here and all of the internet about how shady of any operation the C.A.R.S. Vehicle Warranty company is.

I purchased a $1400 warranty through my dealership for my 05 Ford 250 6.0 Liter Diesel under the pretense that the C.A.R.S. Warranty was essentially a bumper to bumper (under the hood) warranty. I am not a mechanic, so I read the covered parts in the contract prior to purchasing it and between what the dealer told me and what I read, I thought the warranty would cover most issues with the truck in the future.

Boy, was I wrong.

The CARS Warranty is written in such a way that only certain VERY, VERY specific parts are covered and everything pertaining to that part or system is not. The language in the contract you sign is extremely misleading to the point it should be considered to be fraudulent.

C.A.R.S. interprets the language of their covered parts and systems only one way...in the way it doesn't cost them a cent. A lay person cannot distinguish between let's say the "Turbo" and the really expensive pipes required to have a Turbo system. They tell me they will cover the Turbo, not parts of it?! WTF?

To date, they have not covered ANY component I've needed to have serviced and even if they did, two separate mechanics I trust who called in prior to servicing for the warranty told me the coverage they do provide is a joke relative to the costs of actually doing the repair or diagnostic.

I've had the coverage for three and half months and haven't been able to utilize it once. I called today, after getting the shaft again, to cancel my coverage and get a pro-rated refund and they won't hear of it.