Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Finishing Carpenter
1,332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My neighbourhood lumberyard (not a big box) has their moulding on for 25% off right now. Their regular price on crown is already less than 1/2 of HD.

I got 600' today, and probably will pick up another 1000' before their sale ends.

I've never done that before, but I've saved a lot of money. I know that I will use up that much and more before next January. I don't want to go hog wild however, it's an educated guess as to how much to purchase.

Do you guys buy materials on spec?

one caveat: my wife isn't so thrilled about the crown sitting in the (finished/heated) basement :D it's too darned cold and damp to store it in my garage.

·
Registered
16,403 Posts
Mrmac204 said:
My neighbourhood lumberyard (not a big box) has their moulding on for 25% off right now. Their regular price on crown is already less than 1/2 of HD. I got 600' today, and probably will pick up another 1000' before their sale ends. I've never done that before, but I've saved a lot of money. I know that I will use up that much and more before next January. I don't want to go hog wild however, it's an educated guess as to how much to purchase. Do you guys buy materials on spec? one caveat: my wife isn't so thrilled about the crown sitting in the (finished/heated) basement :D it's too darned cold and damp to store it in my garage.
Depends what it is. Millwork prob wouldn't be one of them though. I have baseboards and crown that has sat around for a few months and its all out of shape now and heading for the trash in a few days. some materials I would do this with if I had the room though. Currently I don't though.

·
Registered
2,572 Posts
Did it once with OSB. I ended up using it all before the next storm hit and still. Had to pay ridiculous prices for OSB.

·
Registered
2,572 Posts
BamBamm5144 said: