Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to forum. I'm looking at buying an established excavation business. The business is well established with over $2.6m in turnover last year. Sale includes a huge amount of equipment. It looks reasonably priced. Cash flow is very healthy and increasing. I have NO experience in excavation but I have some experience in construction. I have owned my own businesses since i left high school. I started with a hauling business which i sold. i have owned a successful furniture import/export company. I finished that a few years ago when the economy and lost a certain amount of money in this and some property investments. I have commercial property income but I would love to invest in a profitable established business. Total investment would be $1.3m for business. Cash flow $7-800k. Is it a business that someone with NO excavation experience can possibly be successful. I love to work. I'm a decent communicator. I'm reliable.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
I would call past customers and see whether you could expect repeat buisiness or not.
They may have a hate on for him.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
My question is "is it possible or likely/unlikely to be successful in an area(excavation) with no direct experience"?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
According to the owner and biz broker they are 3-4 weeks out on jobs and are turning away work. Obviously thats what they will say. Things do seem to be picking up. Cash flow 35% of income. Is that reasonable? I'm sure the market is improving and a lot of smaller businesses stop trading in the past few years. Whether this creates an opportunity and I can capitalise on it I'm not so sure

·
Pro
2,859 Posts
fenno said: