·
Trial and Error Opperator
2,018 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
SOOOO, :eek:
after buying my 2008; 260 Ingersoll Rand from a well known dealer
with only 850 hours.

I now have 2500 hours on the unit.
I've fixed a lot on this thing and have always thought what a piece of S^*@! this is,

BUT after having my starter go, the guy that rebuilt it for me informed me that the one that I took off is a remand starter. (and I've never done it since I bought it!)
Plus - the arm that holds up the muffler was cracked on the bottom. no big deal it happens, till I put in the two bolts that fell out, and one was stripped out... and I have never worked on it before, so it wasn't me.

now I'm looking back at all the repairs that I've done and I'm lead to believe that it was used by the previous owner hard, and a lot of hours, then cleaned up after 2 years, hour meter changed or unhooked while using, and traded in for a new one.

I don't even think the dealer even knew it.

most compressors will go 2000 to 3000 before needing major parts.
hell, my old Leroy's had over 4000 to 6000 hours before needing major repairs.

list of some things I've replaced:

Drive couplings at lest 4 now
turbo
starter
Alternator
water pump
radiator housing and tank
control panel
exhaust and muffler

Be careful of what you buy... :thumbup:

Attachments

·
Registered
158 Posts
I feel for you Jim, you just can't trust anybody anymore. When looking for my first compressor, I learned never to trust the hours meter on anything. I've seen compressors with 600 hours and were probably pushing 6000 just because of the amount of damage, rust, non-original parts, and cobbled up this or that.

Have been looking for a forklift for some time now and I just don't believe the meter on half of them either.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Cheap is expensive. A lot of times its better to just buy new.