Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm opening a new LLC and was hoping I could get a couple different opinions. I am a general contractor who subs out all trades except for carpentry which I do myself. I offer services for any remodel or new construction. I can't decide which one to chose for a name. Remodeling, home improvements , general contractor or construction. Did I miss any?

·
Registered
819 Posts
you could also use RENOVATIONS....one of my GC's uses it and i think it sounds higher end

remodeling is what id use...it sounds residential

contracting sounds commercial

home improvements typically means -cheap (at least in my area)

·
Livin the dream...
6,624 Posts
I went with (My Last Name) Carpentry.

If I could go back I would go with Last Name Remodeling Solutions or something like that. Something that sounds more professional.

I thought carpentry sounded better than what most people around here use which would be construction but does not sum up what I do well at all.

All I can say is take your time and pick well because it gets expensive to change after you have vehicle lettering, yard sign, clothing, etc...

·
Head Light Bulb Changer
847 Posts
How about 'Home Renewals'? "Why buy a new HOUSE when you can Re-New your existing HOME"

home improvements typically means -cheap (at least in my area)
Interesting thought. I use 'Home Repairs' as part of my schtick and sometimes I think that conveys cheap. As in I'm just repairing something and not renovating it.

·
Banned
1,907 Posts
Remodeling seems to leave people with the thought that you work mostly on the interior doing kitchens, baths, and so on.

General contractor leaves people with the impression you are expensive and do only very large jobs

Home improvements leaves people with the impression that you are some where between a handy man and a full service construction company