Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, this forum is great. Thanks for the tips I have learned from just reading, priceless.
I am new to this crown molding, but from my limited experience I know that primed MDF is not the friendliest to hang by myself, so for this new job I am going to go with real wood, and look for it to be easier to mount solo.
That being said the client has expressed interest in having a stain finish. My reservation with staining is concealing my imperfections in inside corners. Should I just convince her to have me paint it-that way I can fill the gaps with elmers wood putty and touch it up, OR cut,stain, and deal with gaps as they come(putty and touch up) I know this would leave me with the possibility of mismatched color. I think I answered my own question, but insight would be good.
The title of my post is really this-instead of using crown, should I build up a ceiling molding with 3 seperate pieces(flat,cove,etc) Seems like more work, but possibly better finished product.
As far as the 1/32 inch gap between the molding and the ceiling/wall do you guys caulk that or paint it?
Lastly is there a web resource where I can get some visuals of finished ceiling molding designs.

·
Registered
25 Posts
cstiltzcook said:
First off, this forum is great. Thanks for the tips I have learned from just reading, priceless.
I am new to this crown molding, but from my limited experience I know that primed MDF is not the friendliest to hang by myself, so for this new job I am going to go with real wood, and look for it to be easier to mount solo.