Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a roofer and siding project manager. I admit I don't know it all.

My parents have some land I would like to buy from them and build a summer/weekend house at.

Does anyone know of any books I should buy and read that will help guide me through this process? There will be no demo, it's empty land. I would just be planning and building the house using various sub contractors.

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
Wow, first your remodeling your kitchen and bathroom... now your building a weekend home!

Maybe I need to get into the roofing business ;)

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
LOL. I had a good year because I kick a$$! No seriously I got lucky on a big ol sale. The weekend home shouldn't cost more than 100k, I am guessing.

I've got no more money than I did at the begining of the year. I'm just thinking of ways to utilize my credit.

I saw my sbooks on ebay and amazon for "building you first home" and construction management but I am so cheap I dont want to spend my money on a maybe.

·
Registered
8 Posts
How Many People Visit This Site

How Long Has This Site Been Up I Dont See Much Action Are We Alone In Here
ABOUT YOUR HOUSE I ASSUME YOU ARE GOING TO HIRE SKILLED PEOPLE TO DO MOST OF THE CONSTRUCTION LIKE FOUNDATION ,FRAMING ,PLUMMING EX. RIGHT THE HOUSE HAS TO BE TO CODE AND SAFE . YOU DONT NEED A BOOK TO DO THAT MOST CONSTRUCTION GUYS GIVE GREAT FEEDBACK WHEN YOU ASK QUESTIONS JUST ACT LIKE A GC AND COUNT ON SOMEONE ELSES SKILL IT WILL TURN OUT GREAT

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The book would be for a guide to follow. Yes I am not going to lift a hammer. I will lift a pen and a phone.