Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I am new to General Contracting, but was a frame/finish carpenter for 6 years befor getting into the flooring industry. Within the last two years I have done many full remodels due to the demand of my skills.

I decided a good way to get my feet wet in GC would be to build my own home. Thought it might be a good way to learn the ins and outs of paper work, permitting, etc. I have made a few calls to our local Building Inspector to ask some very simple, but important questions pertaining to requirements about my blueprints. He has been nothing more than a JAG with his answers and feel as if he is mad all the time.

I don't want to start off on the wrong foot with him, but feel as if I need to ask him what his problem is. I know it is not his job to teach, however two thoughts come to my mind. 1. He was once a greenhorn and somebidy had to teach him. 2. As a current tax payer in the same town, my property taxes pay his salery.

Now, I am a calm, cool and collective person, but we all have our breaking points.

Any suggestions?

·
stacker of sticks
8,502 Posts
1) ask your questions here
2) take him to lunch, nothing's free. I spent a lot of money, and worked for little pay forany years for my knowledge.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Lunch would be fine if I thought he would agree to it. I have worked many years as well for my knowledge. Not asking for alot, just a professional attitude.

If I talked down or had his attitude with my potential clients or current clients, I would not be working....ever!!

·
Registered
7,076 Posts
His salary is to be a BI, not a instructor at the local votech