Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a low voltage contractor and our typical installs are alarm systems, cameras, etc. We just did a simple camera install for a small business and pulled a permit for the install. Although, the need was questionable because this camera system was plug-n-play. Premade wires, plug in transformer etc.... No wall penetration etc. But, after 3 of the inspectors debated the issue, they said I should probably pull a permit. Ok, no biggy... here ya go.

Now the job is done and the building is being Finaled so they can open for business and I got a call because the building inspector (not the electrical) would not sign off because my cameras needed to be inspected.

I have never had anyone be able to answer this question (And when I went to the city and asked, all I got was blank stares and shrugs.- I am not kidding)

Anyway, What does the final encompass that my cctv system, and a simple one at that, would prevent the company from opening?

·
Super Moderator
24,693 Posts
It's job security/justification.

An inspector can take a ride complete the paperwork and probably justify 3-4 hours of his day closing out your permit.

Just the way it is any more......

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Only thing I can think of is wall penetrations for fire stopping. Or if your cables are run in a plenum rated ceiling.
Perhaps, but that is an electrical inspection issue that would eventually get noticed when we did call in the inspection of the permit.

I was not able to get a hold of this particular city's inspector, but I had to be at a neighboring city and I asked that city's inspector. He was just as confused and shrugged his shoulders. He claimed that he certainly would not prevent a company from opening under similar situations.

·
Registered
436 Posts