Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
Please help.

Currently it has three poured concrete walls with a drop ceiling. He wants me to build a 4th wall with concrete block and and remove the the existing ceiling and put a concrete ceiling and make the room like a concrete bunker. Is it possible to build a concrete ceiling under a preexisting ceiling?.
Thank you
Vic

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
"please complete your profile, and continue to the intro page and tell us a little about yourself and your professional experience, thankyou and welcome to ct"

·
Registered
62 Posts
I've never done a project like this before but I'm sure your doing alot of shoring up and ripping up the sub flooring to pour some concrete plus you may have to do some post tentioning or pretentioning of the slab thats poured. Find an engineer is your best bet.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Umm... Does he want the concrete to block sound out? Because if so, packing the ceiling cavity with insulating foam would work just as well. It would be doable, but insanely difficult.

If I were to do it, I'd contact an engineer and pull a permit to avoid liability. Then I'd do it however the engineer wanted it done. Otherwise, you have to live with the fear that if that concrete ceiling falls, even due to a small earthquake, your going to be liable for whatever it lands on:eek:.

·
Registered
9,883 Posts
You will need the input of the local building inspector, and involve the input of a structural engineer.

The short answer is yes, it is very possible, if you have the room to float and vibrate the concrete ceiling...it will have to be pumped, obviously, and if I were considering this job, there would be 4 new walls, not just one, to insure a solid ledger for the ceiling.