Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got a letter from Dun & Bradstreet, seems kind of salesey, and it was. They will establish your business in the business credit world for $400 a year, and for $1000 really boost your business credit. What are other options? I've been fine for 6 years incorporated, but would I like the idea and credibility behind it.

·
Talking Head
5,388 Posts
I'm no expert on the matter but that seems like a waste. D&B is like FICO in the business banking world but you need to establish business credit and keep at it to really change the numbers.

You can get a DUNS number from them for free and then start actively building your business credit, pretty much the same way that you would build your personal credit. You can also self-report information about your company and tell them about vendors with whom you have a line-of-credit.

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
D.S.I. do you have any line of credit through your business?
I haven't needed one yet, I have had a few credit cards, mostly personal, that I've used. It's rare that I use them, but gives me some cushion if I'm in between checks.

·
Pro
37 Posts
Try to get a business credit card with a personal guarantee.
"The advantage of going this route is that it allows businesses with no credit or bad credit to get a business card, assuming the owner’s personal credit is good. Then by adding your business D&B number to the card account, you will also be able to build credit for your business at the same time."

·
Registered
1,938 Posts
Get some trade accounts at a supply house that reports to D&B.

Btw - if you ever need a Duns number just fill out the app saying your bidding gov't work. There will be no charge.

·
Banned
2,247 Posts
Don't get any credit!

This may not be for every business, but this is my philosophy.

Don't get any credit!

Don't worry about your credit!