Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
15,259 Posts
Thats wild, clearly not enough shear wall nailed on the ground floor. In fact I surprised the second floor didnt drop like a box. Its looks like there were almost no nails in the sheathing the way it just broke up.

·
Registered
224 Posts
No, not normal, I don't think at least.... I've done alot of framing, but i have limited experience with high winds......I did notice in the video that non of the osb really breaks up, almost like it wasn't nailed, maybe just tacked....Its hard to say with any certainty, but it looks almost like a fake video

·
Registered
15,259 Posts
No, not normal, I don't think at least.... I've done alot of framing, but i have limited experience with high winds......I did notice in the video that non of the osb really breaks up, almost like it wasn't nailed, maybe just tacked....Its hard to say with any certainty, but it looks almost like a fake video
I felt the same way, it came apart like it was just tacked.

·
KemoSabe
14,233 Posts
Look at the ground level where the building steps back about 6'. You have very little offered in shear with a panel and a half, even if nailed properly.

It's hard to tell how much of the rest of that building wash sheathed in on the other side, but when a building starts to shudder in the wind and vibration sets in, it's pretty amazing what'll work loose.

I'd bet that the nailing in the sheathing was over-driven for starters, if it even had more than the corners tacked, waiting for back-nailing.

I personally won't sheath a roof without all the walls fully skinned and nailed off, just for the fact that I've seen this happen to buildings locally several times.

Reactions: ScipioAfricanus

·
Eater of sins.
4,685 Posts
If you pause the video at about 14 seconds you can see that the very bottom of the braced wall that Lone was talking about didn't even have paneling at that 16" (or so).