Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello eveyone. At the company I work for I generally do finish carpentry and kitchen installations. Lately though I've been doing more finishing and painting. I feel like I'm a pretty competent painter and I have experience at finishing from my previous job at a cabinet shop. I'm currently painting some built-ins and I'm having trouble with brush marks. I'm using SW Pro Mar 200 semi-gloss with floetrol. I feel like I'm loading the brush with enough paint and I only brush enough to spread my paint and then tip it off. Am I expecting too much to expect no brush marks?

·
Registered
3,667 Posts
You should start by switching paints. If you want SW switch to Pro Classic. Use a softer brush. It also matters what you're painting over, is it primed or previously painted?

You can get a much smoother finish with oil base. But it can be done with the right water base paint, brush and substrate.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It was primed with SW primer. The primer wasn't tinted though. One coat primer, then sanded, then two topcoats on the interiors and three topcoats on the faceframes and the countertops, all sanded in between coats with a fine 3M sanding sponge. As an experiment I took a piece of the same plywood and sanded it and just put paint with no primer on it and it looked like it laid down smoother than the primed parts.

·
Registered
3,667 Posts
What type of wood is it? The primer will raise the grain and on some woods it takes a lot to get it sanded smooth, I personally don't like sanding sponges.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Its all poplar and poplar plywood. I personally am not crazy about the sponges either, but the different sandpapers I tried(180,220,320) all clogged so fast I would've gone through a whole pack per built-in and the sponge didn't load up like that.

·