Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a excavator by trade but been working for my dad a gc for many years and I am some what familiar with hardwood flooring. I'm installing 3/4 by 5" prefinished oak hardwood floor in my new house. It's a traditional two story with full basement. I live in the Midwest. I plan on subfloor adhesive and staple every board. When I mean subfloor adhesive i mean putting a thin bead in the middle of every board then staple. Was told by flooring guys it helps with cupping. Is my process right Any info would be greatly appreciated.

·
GC/carpenter
43,858 Posts
Tweed11 said:
I'm a excavator by trade but been working for my dad a gc for many years and I am some what familiar with hardwood flooring. I'm installing 3/4 by 5" prefinished oak hardwood floor in my new house. It's a traditional two story with full basement. I live in the Midwest. I plan on subfloor adhesive and staple every board. When I mean subfloor adhesive i mean putting a thin bead in the middle of every board then staple. Was told by flooring guys it helps with cupping. Is my process right Any info would be greatly appreciated.
I had that same floor in my home, about 900 s.f. of it. I had the right moisture reading and put down a moisture barrier and it still cupped. It wasn't real bad, but I noticed it and it drove me nuts for 10 years. My wife didn't notice it, or should I say if she did, she didn't care. It's a great looking floor, but I went with engineered my second go around.

·
Particulate Filter
4,430 Posts
The rule of thumb is 72 hours but this is ultimately meaningless. Local conditions determine when the floor is ready. Moisture reading differential should be 2% or less. calcium chloride test or the plastic vapor test for basment slab.