Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Spud here. New to the forum. I'm a "seasoned" contractor that has taken a job as a project manager in the carpentry dept. of a fire and water restoration company.

Challenging job, decent, steady pay (work through the winter is a selling point in NE PA), company truck, etc. I researched the company on the net, talked to a lot of my contacts and couldn't find any dirt on the company or owner. Some of my contacts said the owner was a prick, but I was raised by a prick and have been accused of the same thing at times... business is business, you know, and their are a lot of whining pussies out there that can't handle a hard day's work.

My resume included the fact that I have been a licensed contractor since 1987 to separate me from the rest of the lot responding to the ad (mix one part general liability/ $500. with one part Online application/ $50 with pick up truck/ ladder combo and one set of balls and voila............instant contractor). My area is swamped with instant contractors that don't know a spudwrench from a coping saw and are giving the profession a bad name, not to mention lowballing bids, which is why I'm in this predicament. I wasn't advertising my license for hire, just weeding out the gypsies.

After my first week, the owner of the company asked me to pull a permit for a roofing job!!! :eek: :no: PA has a state licensing bureau, and the owner has a state license, however the bigger municipalities still require a license issued after passing a proctored exam, which the owner does not have and I possess.