Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Guy who makes things
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone Keith here. I am a licensed master plumber, for the most part I avoid the plaster and drywall trades, but I have picked up a little over the years. I have a quick question about patching plaster.

I have a coming job with a window of about 6 hours overnight where I need to open a 2' square patch of plaster over wire lathe in a commercial kitchen, replace a lead bend, and put plaster back up.

This needs to set up before the kitchen starts up again in the morning, for obvious sanitary reasons.

What material would you use to make sure the patch sets up quickly, and how soon can I paint flat white primer over it if I use it?

Any advice would be appreciated,
Keith

·
Registered
5,401 Posts
I did a few in Comm Kitchens before and we used Wire lath and Structo-Lite,
But the cure time for you might be to long to finish with 2 coats of Dura bond 20min.
Now it gets fun since you do not have a level surface above to put nailers or know how thick it is (prob 1.25 or 1.50)

Leave some exposed wire lath to tie off your nailers (the tighter the better) and shim from there for 5/8 or 1/2 sheetrock.

Mesh or paper tape will work oh and bring a fan to help in the dry time.

(Painting - your on your own) lol

·
Registered
323 Posts