Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My partner and I have about five years experience apiece in carpentry and flooring but have always done remodeling and usually bid per hour as we do alot of different things. Now, I am bidding a job for a big GC in a fairly high end new custom home and he might want per linear foot bid for crown, base, door and window trim. Any ideas? We are in Florida.

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
My immediate thought is to very strongly resist itemizing unit labor costs. That being said, perhaps this is normal for your trade. I hope not.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well we usually install tile which is easy to quote by sf we get $2.75-$4.00 depending and then combined hourly rate. I haven't bit the bullet yet and don't want to start now.

·
Heavy Weight Champ
639 Posts
Hope this helps

in arizona and in utah, I know that per foot is the way too go with base and door case. I would charge a seperate price for the crown, as you will be doing extra ladder work, and that really adds up, especially with tall walls. It also makes a difference if the door casing is pre cut. I know they do that in az. that saves a ton of time. I would charge a seperate fee for the window casing, especially if you are doing a sill, or any type of router work.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am wondering what would be the price per square foot as well for 3.5" colonial casing around the whole house. I am in the same situation, The home owner is looking for a price per linear foot and I usually charge by the hour or day. He has other linear foot quotes and I want to compare. I'm in MA.

·
Heavy Weight Champ
639 Posts