Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Master of Rocket Science
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. This is my first post on here in a while

I'm a 27 year old professional woodworker. I just relocated from NYC/NJ to Chicago. I started out working in a shop in Paterson, NJ then moved to Newark/Jersey City and started woodworking only in shops in NYC. Before I left for Chicago I was living in Southern Queens on the border of Brooklyn for a while. So far Chicago seems pretty good as far as opportunities for skilled trades. There's a decent amount of custom woodshops here.

I'm planning on relocating to other areas of the country a few more times before I settle down. My question is "what is the BEST US city for custom woodworking?" Which area, city, region e.t.c. is the woodworking capital of the US? Where cabinet shops are plentiful and custom woodwork is in super demand? I would also imagine being a woodworker I'd probably want to live somewhere in the South at one point or another.

I'm really curious and interested to hear people's responses. Thanks guys!

·
Banned
3,075 Posts
Staunton, VA

Preferably in about 4-5 months when I open my new shop.

(Northern VA is good. Plenty of quality DC/Metro work to go around, so much that a decent bit makes it down here, a couple hours away)

·
Punching above his weight
9,224 Posts
Check out Portland.

A friend of mine specifically called me to try to sell me on Asheville, NC. Kind of the opposite. He said there were comparatively few people doing woodworking/construction there and that they were in high demand. I have no facts to back this up. Neither did he. hah

·
Master of Rocket Science
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I figured Nashville and Atlanta would be on there. Portland really? I've heard Portland was terrible for jobs as the whole city was "bring your own job". What about Texas?

·
Registered
13 Posts
RE: Portland

Portland - Really?