Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5,059 Posts
Spencer and BRG have the same dewalt? Lol.

Spencer, you say you wouldn't use it in a finished space, you mean like setting it up in a clients bedroom to do tile in their bathroom?

Usually there would be room for it in the space we are finishing off. I snap and angle grind for floors usually. But if I'm doing a shower or a tub surround, etc, I have room in the space for the saw.

·
Registered
5,059 Posts
Robinson1 said:
You work with much porcelain? What blade do you use in your grinder? I've never had much luck cutting porcelain with a grinder. Seems like I break at least 1 out of 3.
I do some yes. I use a continuous rim diamond dewalt blade from lowes or Home Depot currently... It's about 2 years old and just keeps cutting. I've never broke a tile using it though.

I'm not a tile guy by trade, do 20 jobs a year so limited experience or knowledge as to why it would break the tile. Is it cuts close to the edge? You do have to think ahead and realize the tile will break if you don't cut the right direction first, etc. also maybe making sure it's fully supported if you're not already. I usually cut on a scrap if drywall or plywood.

It also doesn't give chip free cuts on most tile cause it's probably a $10 wheel so they need to be covered by trim. When this wheel dies I might get a nicer one so I can use it on visible cuts too for complicated shower stuff, etc

·
Registered
5,059 Posts
BCConstruction said: