Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Beginner here. What would be the optimal size for excavating foundation areas in avg 50x120 lots? The footings on average are not deeper than 10ft. The area of excavation on average is 40'x60'x10'. Would a 20ton be overkill or the right size? We are currently using 8ton with 36inch bucket and it seems like it's somewhat undersized for these jobs?

·
Registered
8,337 Posts
150s are nice, legal width... no problem with basement excavations. Can pull behind tandem dump with tilt deck.

I ran 210s, but we also did sewer/ water main work.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
8,337 Posts
With a 150 to 200 sized machine, have more reach,, easier to cast material away from excavation or load trucks.

Still a size that's relatively easy to mobilize job to job.

CAT adds a 3 in front of their metric weight designation, why I don't know, so for example, their 320 is the same size class as other manufacturers 200 class.

I assume your 305 weighs approximately 5.5 metric ton?

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

·
Goin' Down in Flames....
Highwayman
6,614 Posts
12,500 lbs.

I think thats about 5.5 metric tons?

Didnt know that about how CAT numbers their machines. 👍

·
Registered
87 Posts
350 is WAY overkill for residential work.

it was a tree-fiddy joke $350.00 for a fifty ton back hoe?????

The more open the lot, the larger machine that will work.....

Many times a larger hoe can replace an truck loading track loader?

Rubber vs steel allow for crossing finished roads and drives........ Steel lower hourly costs maybe? less down time? I could see a large fleet having the same model in steel and in rubber versions.

At some size, hoes stop coming with a push blade option??? a carriage design for dozing will last longer then one not if not abused?