Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.
Just found this forum, and I have to say, thank you.
Ive been painting for 8+ years now and its nice to find a forum where the veterans are willing to share their knowledge with us rookies. For my 1st post I wanted to ask everyones' opinion.

Now I know that any good painter can work with any paint, but I'd like to know what you guys favor the most? From all of my experiences, I have found myself always using Shermin Will. and Olympic. I have had some very bad experiences with Glidden and Ben Moore. Nothing to do with the actaul product, but the dealer who sells it.

What do you guys think?
And again, thanks for the advice.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Best paint

Do you do exteriors, interiors or both? and where are you at. Different products for different regions!!

Welcome to the board. I found it just recently and really enjoy it.

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
I like Sherwin Williams the best!

Specifically: Duration and Cashmere

I know these cost more but I think they make up for the cost in application time.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Sounds like you do mostly interiors? My choices are Sherwin Williams and Porter. We do mostly commercial applications and use a lot of SW DTM, ChemCrhomeic, & DryFall.
We also use a lot of speciality paints & epoxys that are designed for specific applications from regional suppliers.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Just found this site a week ago. Very nice. I use A100 and SuperPaint for exteriors. I'm going to be trying Duration this month for the first time. And depending on what I'm doing for interiors, ProMar 200, SuperPaint and Cashmere.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Sorry bout that ECS..
I do both In/Ex. Im located in Saginaw, Michigan.
I prefer A-100 and woodscape stain for Ex.
I prefer ProMar 400 for Int.(not 100% sold on SW's color accents yet)