Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Doing a reno and my boss isn't sure if he's going to let us ( his guys) do the hardwood flooring or if he's going to sub it out.

I've never done it before and really want to learn, so I told him if he lets us do it I'd buy the nailer.

Did a little research and these guys can get pretty pricey, but if I'm going to take the plunge I want something that will last.
What do you guys use/ recommend?

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
I use a Bostich with no complaints, but my next gun will be a prima tech. I also have an old cheapo that I bought one day when my gun went down and it worked fine as well. There really isn't much to them if you ask me.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
I should add that they are all over Craigslist here. Lots of homeowners buy them to install their own floors and then sell. Might save a few bucks.

·
Banned
3,075 Posts
I really like my Bostich.

I've had it a long time, it has never failed me, so I've never had to try another.

·
GC/carpenter
43,858 Posts
tenon0774 said:
I've only used the bostitch once. I tried the powernailer years ago, and haven't looked back. ...just because I'm a cleat guy, not a staple guy.
Thats the gun I use, and it works awesome.

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
OK, I know I'll take some heat for this but here goes....

I have installed a number of hardwood floors in my career. I used to rent a bostich air gun from the local tool place every time.

I had a coupon and the harbor freight one was on sale one day. I had a flooring install job to do. So I bought it. The bostich was running $469 at the time. I paid ~$80 for the HF.

It's almost identical in design except the handle curve is a tad bit different in degrees. Exactly the same in performance. Has worked flawlessly for me every time I've used it.