Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I've got a couple of questions, I'm sure some of you would like to share some of your earned knowledge. I'm still somewhat new to the ownership side of a remodeling company. I'm swamped with Proposals right now, and I seem to get the tire kickers quite a bit. My question is how do you screen callers while avoiding discouraging potential callers. Also what does your normal "Design Consultation" or estimate look like. Is it free? Is it thorough to the point you would write a proposal for a home addition for free? And while I'm at it I've been thinking about a "Welcome Package" folder containing information on some things to expect during remodeling just to keep the client happy. Any thoughts on that? The best marketing avenue for serious customers? Is it common for most people to be oblivious to the cost of remodeling? I appreciate any answers in advance. Also I'm doing a proposal for a home addition, customer is getting a loan from wells Fargo against the value of the proposed addition. The bank will not pay any upfront costs. All material and labor costs for around the first month will be out of my pocket. How common is this?

·
Registered
121 Posts
SL,

Welcome to Contractor Talk!

I haven't gotten good at screening callers yet. I've tried it a couple of times by asking what their budget was for the project or if they even had one and it felt pretty awkward to say the least.