Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Working on a second floor bathroom reno. and had plumber come in and rough in plumbing. Came back to lay subfloor and find that the toilet flange will be proud of the finished floor by 1.5". :censored: Called up the plumber said he had to put it that high to get needed pitch on run. Floor is only 2x6 joists (late 1800's colonial) so I can understand his problem. Where it comes up through the floor he used a 45 degree sweep to reduce height some but the top of the 3" pipe is almost to top of joist already. I am thinking I will have to build a little platform for the toilet raising it the necessary 1.5" and trimming and tiling it. Any thoughts on how to make this look not like a hack job?

Can't raise whole floor 1.5" or the transition into the room will be really pronounced. I'm a carpenter not a plumber so maybe there is a plumbing solution?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
General Contractor
8,051 Posts
I guess there is no other choice... Why he didn't bring this to your attention before he did the rough and see if something else can be done, perhaps a wall mounted toiled, pack out ceiling bellow could be an option, etc.

Even now that is 1.5" higher, 3/4 sub-floor, 1/2" hardy-backer and the tile will make it flush. Put the saddle in the doorway om top of the 1/2 backer board, and if there is carpeting in the hallway, lay-out a row of shims along the trash-hold against the backer board, padding and carpet and you be OK, nobody will notice that transition.

·
Registered
4,732 Posts
10" will be a non standard rough toilet...

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·