Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Might be putting in a basement entrance with a pre-cast stair unit, and a "billco" type door. I have never done this before, and was wondering about the pro's and con's of it? Anything to look out for and hints will be greatly helpful! And please don't say to hire someone, I have been in the trades for 30 + years, just never done this! And this is for my own home. Thanks, dave

·
I'm a Mac
5,487 Posts
Do you have frost to content with? I.e what is your code for footings below grade? That now becomes below the slab at the bottom of your walkout, you must also underpin the existing house wall in the area too.

·
Registered
8,139 Posts
It will work as long as you have a concrete foundation. If you have 8" block it might work if you have poured cells with steel. If hollow then I would have a mason build a bulkhead and frame some steps in it.

·
General Contractor
8,090 Posts
It works with CMU foundation also, this was done with 12" block. The structure is bolted to the foundation and there is a support installed to hold it in place and back-fill when ready. Very simple.

Attachments

·
General Contractor
8,090 Posts
Are you not insulating it somehow? Assuming it's not conditioned space what is preventing frost heave?
No, there will be insulated door installed in the basement and you don't need anything else.

Chris, let me add that you will have your typical perimeter drainage around the foundation in new constructions, and if you doing this to existing house without perimeter drainage, putting clean stone under it would be a good idea.

·
Registered
1,527 Posts