Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello - New to this site -

As a painter, I have done couple of trim work. Currently, I have a client that wants me to re-trim his 2 bedroom condo. They want 1x4 used as the baseboard and 1x2 for casing.

The issue: both of them are 5/8 thickness. I recommended that we find a 1x4 with 1/2 width, which would be the correct way. However they are insisting that I use the same width for a smooth transition.

A. Does anyone have a recommendation/tips for this kind of installation? I see the use of wood clay and sanding if the width is going to be the same.

Thanks....

·
Registered
6 Posts
Do you want a smooth transition, or do they? i've worked with casing and baseboard that are the same thickness lots of times. we just butt it up to the casing, even if it's all flat profile.

But if you really want them to tie in together, i would just glue where they meet, then fill and do lots of sanding until there's no noticeable transition

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do you want a smooth transition, or do they? i've worked with casing and baseboard that are the same thickness lots of times. we just butt it up to the casing, even if it's all flat profile.

But if you really want them to tie in together, i would just glue where they meet, then fill and do lots of sanding until there's no noticeable transition
Thanks! They want the smooth transition. The carpenter I used to work for all ways told me to make sure the base is a little thinner the casing so the casing has a little lip and that was the right way of doing it.

This is the first square trim that I have ever done, so I'm thinking of butting it against the casting, fill the little crack with clay, sand it and paint it.

·
Pro or somethin'...
612 Posts