Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
to make it short just bought a house to rehab and the walls are shot as well as the celings there is a bout 5 layers of wall paper that dosent want to come off so im thinking it would be easier to just dry wall over what is existing other than try to tear it all down to the studs what is the best method for doing this? im new to this kind of job so any help would be appreciated.;

·
Contractor
46 Posts
what have you done to try and remove the paper? did you try it by hand with a scraper? Did you steam it? Did you try chemically removing it? How old is the house? The walls and ceilings are shot? how so?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well one room of the house is completely shot i had already tore it down to the studs due to a leaky roof. the other rooms have some water damage and some cracks through the plaster. im sure that the wall paper could be peeled or sanded but would it be easier and nicer looking to just put up new dry wall?

·
Contractor
46 Posts
stringblade said:
well one room of the house is completely shot i had already tore it down to the studs due to a leaky roof. the other rooms have some water damage and some cracks through the plaster. im sure that the wall paper could be peeled or sanded but would it be easier and nicer looking to just put up new dry wall?