Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have used a couple different backlink check tools and they show different results. One will show 40, another 9, and another shows 0??? What is a good site for me to use for accurate info?

Also, any suggestions where to build more backlinks? I have registered on almost all the directories/yellow pages and such, but as you know they are almost always coded no follow. Any suggestions for building more quality links?

I'm new to seo and trying to learn this stuff. I still have a lot to finish on my site, but am chipping away at it.

Thanks.

·
Registered
8,139 Posts
I would put all your efforts into your site and then citations. Backlinks are getting tricky even for people who supposedly know what they are doing.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Google Web Master Tools is the best free option for you when checking backlinks. JBM is right, be careful building links, it can really hurt you if you don't handle it right.

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I certainly have a lot of work to do on my site, but am trying to wrap my head around all this seo and ranking crap. Ultimately, I will probably hire someone to take care of this stuff for me, but I want to understand the basics and address what I can first. I am just confused about the variance on backlinks from on check to another.

So far I rank on page two using some search terms for the local area. There are the typical paid ranks above me(Angie's list, build zoom, yp.com, etc) but I am trying to get onto page one over the next few months.

·
Registered
8,139 Posts
Probably only half of the seo people out there really have a clue about what they are doing. Look for someone who does local seo, its a thing now a days. A 80-200 page website with good on page will rank better then some moron's outsourced india seo butchery. Focus on the website first imo.

·
Registered