Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a paint contractor doing mostly residential repaints. I have been considering taking credit cards for a while now. I have just started to look at pay pal as a possible way to take cards. Has any one tried this and how is it working?

Jim Bunton

·
Remodeler
824 Posts
I've used PayPal for years but not for the construction business. I use it for on-line sales etc.

·
Registered
83 Posts
I would only use paypal for an online company.

If you want to accept credit cards for your company, I would highly recommend using someone that either your bank recommends or some company that targets your industry and credit acceptance. Make sure you can do transactions via a machine, phone, and hopefully via the web.

***I just went to paypal and see they have been improving their services, I may have to change my view***

These are the current rates I pay for my credit processing:

FREE Merchant Setup
Gateway Setup with AuthNet
Rates at 2.35%
$10/month Statement & Support Fee (this goes to the reseller)
$15/month Gateway Fee (this pays for authorize.net account)
NO Monthly Minimum!
NO Annual Fee!
NO Early Termination Fee!

If I wanted, I could have a terminal for credit cards for free. But, I just use my website to type in the numbers.

·
Banned
1,539 Posts