Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I am a local plumber with a few trucks and I was talking to a buddy of mine how I wanted to go digital. I'm just tired of all the paper. He knew a friend in IT who said he would design a system for me. I would just like oppinions on getting such a system? Have any of you used\wanted something like this? Here was his email to me describing the system:

EMAIL said:
The system is as follows:
*Client laptops mounted in the contractor's vans.
*A printer mounted in the contractor's vans
*A server or base computer stored at the office
*A wireless router (encrypted) to sync the clients and base.

When a contractor is on the job he will use the software I developed to get the customers information. The software will print professional looking invoices\estimates as well as keep an electronic copy of this information. The software will also collect the customers credit card details if this is the method of payment. All data will be stored ENCRYPTED on an external USB stick. Contractors are encouraged to remove USB sticks at the end of the shift (To add a layer of security against physical theft).

When the contractor finishes his day and comes back to the office he will be in range of the wireless router. From there the client laptop will send all data throughout the day to the base station. When the base station confirms it has received the data, it will then be deleted off the client's laptop. From there the base station will put the day's invoices into a spread sheet format for the office staff. Credit cards will also be processed automatically at this point and a report will be sent to the office staff. For backup (for some reason the wireless sync failed), a contractor may remove his USB stick and stick it into the base station. Sync will be automatic.