Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Motorboatin' son of a ...
1,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seems I have no choice now with the amount of debt and the lack of work. Bank is saying they won't reaffirm my truck loan that I've been paying for the past 5 years. Not allowed to apply for any credit or a loan to obtain another one. Looks like I'm going to lose my only means for work even though I pay for it every month. Attorney is no help. All he tells me is that he doesn't control the banks policies, but I had no idea this would happen. I specifically asked the attorney before I signed anything what would happen with the truck loan if I didn't include it in the BK. He told me the bank would reaffirm the loan. Now the bank says otherwise and it looks like I'm screwed.

Anyone got any advice?

·
Banned
490 Posts
Do you have anything that can be sold to payoff the truck? Maybe you can let the truck go and sell something to purchase a cheap truck. A guy has to have transportation. I don't understand what reaffirm means in the banking industry. I feel for you, you are ceratinly not alone, but it still does not make it easier.

·
Registered
380 Posts
Are you filing personally and the truck is in your company? or the reverse?

I am sure things are different state to state but if the vehicle is in your name and you are filing personally it should be included in the BK. If this was left out then normally you can file an amendment if the bankruptcy has not been discharged. If it has already been discharged then unfortunately there is not much you can do about the bank opting to not reaffirm.

I feel your pain as I was once there. Keep moving forward and it will all work out.

·
Banned
154 Posts